Touch Radio 65 | Zachary James Watkins

7.07.11 – Suite For String Quartet – 22:56 – 320 kbps

Zachary James Watkins writes: “Suite For String Quartet is written specifically for resonant spaces, interactive electronics, audience participation and string quartet. Suite for String Quartet has been in a continuous state of “revision” since Christmas 2004. In 2006, I developed a new tuning for all 16 strings. Each string of the quartet is retuned to an odd number partial of 60Hz. For this current version performed on May 1st, 2011 as part of the Second Annual May Day! New Music Marathon in Seattle, WA the entire first movement was rewritten.”

Brad Hawkins, Cello
Eyvind Kang, Viola
Paris Hurley, Violin
Brandon Vance, Violin
Zachary James Watkins, Electronics